In the begining

unfried
After much time-wasting and dilly-dallying, I finally got around to starting a blog. Hitherto, I had been comfortable reprising the role of the proverbial chef who purchased all the tools of the trade, read a million cookery books, studied other great chefs but could not pluck up the balls to actually step into the kitchen and cook something.
I spent so much time looking at, and even analyzing, the pros and cons of WordPress, BlogSpot and other blogging sites (Yet, my choice of WordPress was, more or less, a gut decision). I read countless articles on sustaining your blog (Its amazing the sheer number of blogs that are centered on starting and sustaining a blog). I met self-acclaimed blogxperts who promised to make my blog an internet wonder of blogtastic and blognificent proportions. They would teach me all the ‘hidden tricks’ and the ‘sure-fire’ ways of good blogging, for a fee, of course.
After endless scouring of the internet, I knew that, at least, I wasn’t the only young Nigerian bitten with the blogging bug. However, other would-be bloggers seemed to be more interested in “How you can make money with blogging: A four-day guide” or “Big Bucks by Blogging”. Am I surprised? No. After all, who wouldn’t want to be a millionaire blogger like good ol’ Linda Ikeji.
I wasn’t sure what I wanted to blog about, but I was sure what I DID NOT want to blog about. Society and Entertainment . . .Yuck! . . . that street is so overcrowded. Technology. . .maybe. . .but how many Nigerians are really interested in being wowed by the itty-bitty features of the Samsung Galaxy S4 or the Blackberry Z10. Local Television or Sports. . .to see a blog in that niche would be refreshing. . . but I can’t remember the last time I caught an episode of Wale Adenuga’s SuperStory. Almost everybody is stuck on Big Bang Theory, Game of Thrones, Spartacus, Nikita etc .Also, young people are too busy killing themselves-literally- over Arsenal and Chelsea, to be bothered with the season fortunes of Kano Pillars or Warri Wolves.
In the end, I just decided to go for it. After all, it is better to have loved and lost than to have not loved at all. I elected to blog about the kind of things I would love to read on the internet. Personal intellectual property. Something you couldn’t get anywhere else on the Google-wide internet. For Me By Me.
So, one evening, I picked up my phone and registered my blog. A new blog was born. UnfriedGarri?! The peculiar circumstance that led to that name is between me and the chubby Igbo lady who fries akara in front of my house on Saturday mornings. Excelsior!

Leave a Reply

